World Leaders

by Piero Scaruffi | Democracies of the world

TM, ®, Copyright © 2009 Piero Scaruffi All rights reserved.

Afghanistan Hamid Karzai2001 provisional government after civil war
Albania Sali Berisha2005 national elections
Algeria Abdelaziz Bouteflika1999 only candidate in election
Angola Jose Eduardo dos Santos 1979 succeeded dead president
Argentina Cristina Fernandez`2003 national elections
Armenia Serzh Sargsyan/Sarkisian 2008 national election
Australia Tony Abbott2013 national election
Austria Wolfgang Schuessel? national election
Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev 2003 succeeds father
Bahamas Hubert Ingraham 2007 national election
Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina 2009 national election
Belarus Alexander Lukashenko1994 inherited presidency from communism
Belgium Elio Di Rupo2011 appointed by parliament
Bhutan Jigmi Kinley2008national election
Bolivia Evo Morales 2005 national elections
Botswana Festus Gontebanye Mogae1998national elections
Brazil Luiz Inacio Lula 2002 national election
Britain David Cameron 2010 national election
Bulgaria Plamen Oresharski 2013 national election
Burkina Faso Blaise Campaore 1987 coup
Burundi Pierre Nkurunziza2005 national elections
Cambodia Hun Sen1997coup
Cameroon Paul Biya 1982succeeded dead president
Canada Stephen Harper2006national elections
Centrafrica Michel Djotodia2013coup
Chad Idriss Deby 1990 coup
Chile Michelle Bachelet2014 national election
China Xi Jinping 2012 appointed by communist party
Colombia Juan Manuel Santos 2010national elections
Congo Joseph Kabila 2000 succeeded father who was assassinated
Congo Brazzaville Denis Sassou-Nguesso 1997 after civil war
Costa Rica Laura Chinchilla 2010 national election
Croatia Ivo Josipovic 2010 national election
Cuba Raul Castro 2006 inherited power from brother Fidel
South Cyprus Demetris Christofias 2008 national elections
North Cyprus Dervish Eroglu 2010 national elections
Czech Republic Petr Necas2010 ?
Denmark Anders Fogh Rasmussen? national elections
Dominicana Danilo Medina 2012 national elections
East Timor Jose Ramos-Horta2007 national elections
Ecuador Rafael Correas2006 national elections
Egypt Abdul Fattah al-Sisi2014 deposed previous president
El Salvador Tony Saca 2004 national elections
Equatorial Guinea Teodoro Obiang Nguema 1979 coup
Eritrea Issaias Afwerki 1991 since independence
Estonia Arnold Ruutel ?national elections
Ethiopia Meles Zenawi 1995national elections
Finland Sauli Niinisto wins 2012 national elections
France Francois Hollande 2012 national election
Gabon El Hadj Omar Bongo 1967 succeeded dead president
Gambia Yahya Jammeh 1994 coup
Georgia Bidzina Ivanishvili 2012national elections
Germany Gerhard Schroeder 1998 national election
Ghana John Dramani Mahama2012succeeded dead president
Greece George Papandreou 2009 national election
Guatemala Alvaro Colom 2007 national election
Guinea Moussa Dadis Camara 2008 coup
Haiti Rene Preval2006 national election
Honduras Juan Orlando Hernandez 2013 national elections
Hungary Viktor Orban 2010 national election
Iawar Yustole Dispage 2004 national election
Iceland Johanna Sigurdardottir2009 appointed during national crisis
India Nerendra Modi 2014 national election
Indonesia Joko Widodo 2014 national elections
Iran Mahmoud Ahmadinejad 2005 national election
Iraq /td> Jawad al-Maliki2006 national election
Ireland /td>Brian Cowen 2008 succeeded resigning prime minister
Israel Benjamin Netanyahu2009national election
Italy Mario Monti 2011 appointed by parliament
Ivory Coast Alassane Ouattara 2011 national elections and revolution
Jamaica Bruce Golding2007 national elections
Japan Shinzo Abe 2012 appointed by parliament
Jordan King Abdullah 1999 succeeded his father
Kenya Uhuru Kenyatta 2013 national election
Korea (South) Lee Myung-bak2008 national election
Korea (North) Kim Jong II 1994 succeeded his father
KuwaitSabah al-Ahmad2006 death of sheik
Kyrgyzstan Almazbek Atambayev 2011 elections
Latvia Vaira Vike-Freiberga ? national election
Lebanon Fouad Siniora national elections 2005
Liberia Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf2005 national elections
Libya Mahmoud Jibril2012 national elections
Lithuania Dalia Grybauskaite 2009 national elections
Madagascar Hery Rajaonarimampianina 2014 national elections
Malawi Peter Mutharika 2014 national elections
Malaysia Abdullah Badawi 2003 succeeded retiring president
Maldives Mohammed Waheed Hassan2012 replaced resigning president
Mali Ibrahim Boubacar Keita 2013 democratic elections
MauritaniaMaaouya Ould Taya1984coup
Mexico Enrique Pena Nieto 2012 national election
Mongolia Nambaryn Enkhbayar 2005 Mongolia
Morocco Mohammed VI 1999 succeeded his father
Mozambique Joaquim Chissano 1986 succeeded dead president
Myanmar/Burma Thein Sein 2011 appointed president
Namibia Hifikepunye Pohamba 2005 national election
Nepal Baburam Bhattarai 2011 appointed by parliament
Netherlands Jan Peter Balkenende2002 national election
New Zealand Helen Clark1999 national election
Nicaragua Daniel Ortega 2006 national election
Niger Tandja Mamadou 1999 national election
Nigeria Goodluck Jonathan2010 succeeds dead president
Norway Jens Stoltenberg2005 national elections
Pakistan Asif Ali Zardari2008 national elections
Palestine Mahmoud Abbas 2005 national elections, but occupied by Israel
Panama Carlos Varela 2014 national elections
Papua New Guinea Mekere Morauta ???? ???
Paraguay Federico Franco 2012 appointed by senate
Peru Ollanta Humala 2011 national elections
Philippines Danilo Medina 2012 national elections
Poland Kazimierz Marcinkiewicz 2005 national elections
Portugal Jose Socrates2005 national election
Qatar Hamad al-Thani ??? emir
Romania Traian Basescu 2005 national elections
Russia Dmitry Medvedev 2008 appointed by predecessor
Rwanda Paul Kagame 1994 prevailed in civil war
Sahrawi Mohammad Abdelaziz 199? ?
Saudi Arabia Fahd bin 'Abdulaziz 1982succeeds his brother
Senegal Macky Sall 2012 national elections
Serbia Mirko Cvetkovic 2008 national elections
Sierra Leone Ernest Koroma 2007 national elections
Singapore Lee Hsien Loong 2004 succeeded departing prime minister
Slovakia Robert Fico 2006 national elections
Slovenia Janez Drnovsek 2002 national elections
Somalia Hassan Mohammud 2012 elected by parliament
Somaliland Dahir Riyale Kahnim 2005 elections
South Africa Jacob Zuma 2009 national elections
South Sudan Salva Kiir Mayardit 2011 independence
Spain Mariano Rajoy 2011 national election
Sri Lanka Mahinda Rajapakse2005 national election
Sudan Omar al-Bashir1999 coup
Suriname Desi Bouterse2010 national elections
Sweden Fredrik Reinfeldt 2006 national elections
Sydewascar Yustol Dispage 1996 coup
Syria Bashar Assad 2000 succeeded his father
Taiwan Ma Ying-jeou 2008 national election
Tajikistan Emomali Rakhmon 1992 appointed by supreme council
Tanzania Jakaya Kikwete 2005 national election
Thailand Abhisit Vejjajiva 2008 appointed prime minister
Tibet Dalai Lama ??? in exile since China invaded Tibet
Togo Gnassingbe Eyadema 1967 coup
Trinidad Kamia Persad-Bissessar 2010 elections
Tunisia Mohammed Ghannouchi 2011 student rebellion
Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdogan 2003 elections
Turkmenistan Gurbanguli Berdymukhamedov2006 succeeded dead president
Uganda Yoweri Museveni1986 prevailed in civil war
Ukraine Petro Poroshenko 2014 national elections
United Arab Emirates Khalifa ibn-Zayed 2004 succeeded his father
Uruguay Tabare Vazquez 2004 national election
USABarack Obama2009 national election
Uzbekistan Islam Karimov 1991 inherited power from Soviet Union
Venezuela Nicolas Maduro 2013 succeeded dead president
Vietnam Nong Duc Manh2001 secretary general of communist party
Yemen Abdurabu Mansur Hadi 2012 succeeded deposed president
Zambia Michael Sata 2011 elections
Zimbabwe Robert Mugabe 1980since independence