Nikola Kodjabashia

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions - Termini d'uso )

, /10

Macedonian-born and British-based pianist and composer Nikola Kodjabashia (1970) operates at the junction of orchestral, electronic and "concrete" music. His career began with the electronic suite Die Hamletmaschine (1997) but he soon turned to orchestral music with Sinphonia (1998) and Hymn (1998). The electroacoustic phase yieled Yellow Sostenuto (1999) for chamber ensemble and electronics, and the (unfinished) opera Explosion of a Memory (2000) for singers, actor, dancer, orchestra and live electronics. Besides chamber music such as Ludus Gothicus (2001) for violin and piano and Gaudi's bed (2001) for seven strings, Kodjabashia returned to score for the full orchestra with the piano concerto Neuromancer (2001), the symphonic poem Bildbeschreibung (2001) and the choral Single Will (2002). The Birds (2002) for percussion, ethnic instruments and electronics opened a new front of eclectic fusion.

Reveries of the Solitary Walker (ReR, 2004) and The Most of Now (ReR, 2008) were fragmented in surreal vignettes that ran the gamut from remixed folk music to atonal chamber music.

Explosion of a Memory (ReR, 2010) collects more ambitious and extended compositions: Bildbeschreibung (2001), that sets a Stravinsky-ian melody (played by the winds with funereal pomp) in an expressionist atmosphere further corroded by minimalist repetition and booming percussion; Secular Gothic / Neuromancer (2004), a sea of languid drones; Explosion of a Memory (2008), a percussion concerto that exudes joyous gamelan-like childishness and soaring horn fanfares only to end in tragic overtones.

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions - Termini d'uso )
What is unique about this music database