Fausto Romitelli

(Copyright © 2016 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )

, /10

Fausto Romitelli (Italy, 1963) was an avantgarde composer that bridged musique concrete and chamber music.

Solare (2018) contains seven chamber compositions, mostly from the 1980s, including Solare (1983) for solo guitar, Seascape (1994) for flute, and Trash TV Trance (2002) that uses an electric guitar to generate wildly dissonant sounds that bridge musique concrete and Jimi Hendrix.

Audiodrome (2007) collects four orchestral works: The Nameless City (1997) for string orchestra and unlimited bells, EnTrance (1995) for soprano, 16 players and electronics, Flowing Down Too Slow (2001) for strings, percussion and two samplers, and Dead City Radio Audiodrome (2003) for orchestra.

Anamorphosis (2012) contains Amok Koma (2001) for ensemble and electronics, Domeniche Alla Periferia Dell'Impero (2000), Nell'Alto Dei Giorni Immobili for six players, and La Sabbia del Tempo (1991) for six players (flute, clarinet, synth, violin, viola, cello).

The Nameless City (2012) adds Flowing Down Too Slow (2001), besides another version of The Nameless City and other compositions.

His most ambitious works were perhaps the electronic poem Index of Metal (Cypres, 2006) for soprano, ensemble and electronics, composed in 2003, and the psychedelic Professor Bad Trip (2004), composed in 1998-2000, for 8 performers and electronics, divided into three "lessons" (an allusion to painter Francis Bacon's triptych "Three Studies for a Self Portrait").

Romitelli died in 2004 at the age of 41.

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2016 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database