Juraj Herz

Best films:
, /10

Juraj Herz (Czechoslovakia, 1934), who graduated from the theatre faculty of Prague (DAMU) rather than the film faculty (FAMU), debuted with the medium-length film Sberne Surovosti/ The Collection of Roughness (1965), based on a short story by Bohumil Hrabal. His first full-length film was the psychological drama Znameni Raka/ Sign of the Cancer (1966), adapted from Hana Belohradska's book, but he rose to prominence with the horror comedy Spalovac Mrtvol/ Carnival of Heretics/ The Cremator (1969), based on Ladislav Fuks' novel and starring Rudolf Hrušinský, which was banned for 20 years. He also made comedies such as Kulhavý Dabel/ The Limping Devil (1968) and Holky z Porcelanu/ The Porcelain Girls (1974), but, after another psychological drama Petrolejove Lampy/ Oil Lamps (1971), adapted from Jaroslav Havlicek's book, he specialized in the horror, mystery and thriller genre for the rest of his career: Morgiana (1972), adapted from Alexandr Grin's book, Den pro mou Lasku/ Day for My Love (1976), scripted by Marketa Zinnerova, Panna a Netvor/ Beauty and the Beast (1978), Devate Srdce/ The Ninth Heart (1978), Krehke Vztahy (1979), adapted from Vaclav Dusek's book, Upir z Feratu/ The Vampire of Ferat (1982), from Josef Nesvadba's short story, Zastihla me Noc/ The Night Overtakes Me (1985), adapted from Jaromíra Kolarova's book, Prezuvky Stesti/ The Fortune Teller (1986), etc. In 1987 he emigrated to Germany, where he made Žabi Princ/ The Frog Prince (1991), Hloupa Augustina/ Silly Augustine (1993), Cisarovy Nove Saty/ The Emperor's New Clothes (1993), T.M.A./ Darkness (2009), Habermannuv Mlýn/ Habermann (2010), adapted from Josef Urban's book, etc. Most of his films were photographed by Jiri Machane.

He died in 2010.

(Copyright © 2022 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )