Guy Maddin

6.5 Tales from the Gimli Hospital (1988)
6.5 Archangel (1990)
6.5 Careful (1992)
6.0 Twilight of the Ice Nymphs (1997)
7.0 Dracula - Pages From a Virgin's Diary (2002)
7.0 Cowards Bend the Knee (2003)
6.5 The Saddest Music in the World (2003)
7.1 Brand Upon the Brain (2006)
6.5 My Winnipeg (2008)
6.0 Keyhole (2011)
7.1 The Forbidden Room (2015)

Guy Maddin (Canada, 1956) debuted with the 25-minute black-and-white short The Dead Father (1985). His first feature, Tales from the Gimli Hospital (1988), was also shot in black-and-white on 16-mm film, as was the second, Archangel (1990), a World War I movie scripted by George Toles. His first color film was Careful (1992), inspired by the German "bergfilms" of the silent era. His first film shot in 35 mm was Twilight of the Ice Nymphs (1997), again scripted by Toles and inspired by Knut Hamsun's novel "Pan". After the seven-minute short The Heart of the World (2000), inspired by Soviet constructivism of the silent era, Maddin created an odd documentary of a ballet performance of Bram Stoker's novel "Dracula": Dracula - Pages from a Virgin's Diary (2002). The Saddest Music in the World (2003) was the first film featuring Isabella Rossellini. After the ten short films of Cowards Bend the Knee (2003), conceived for an art installation, shot on Super-8mm film and featuring a character named "Guy Maddin", and the silent movie Brand Upon the Brain (2006), which also featured a character with his name, he directed the autobiographical My Winnipeg (2008). Keyhole (2011) was his first digital film. His work for art galleries resulted in the installation series Hauntings (2010) and the installations Only Dream Things (2012) and Seances (2016). The Forbidden Room (2015) was co-directed with Evan Johnson. He and Johnson employed a collage technique for The Green Fog (2017), "a scene-by-scene reimagining of Alfred Hitchcock's Vertigo comprised entirely of Bay Area film footage from a variety of sources".

(Copyright © 2022 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )