Winners of the Booker Prize

Back to the list of literary prizes | Booker's web site

(Note: the Man Booker International Prize, instituted in 2005, is a different prize, awarded for a book written in non-English languages and translated into English)

P. H. Newby: "Something to Answer For" (1969)
Bernice Rubens: "The Elected Member" (1970)
V. S. Naipaul: "In a Free State" (1971)
John Berger: "G.) A Nove"l (1972)
J.G. Farrell: "The Siege of Krishnapur" (1973)
Stanley Middleton: "Holiday" (1974)
Nadine Gordimer: "The Conservationist" (1974)
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala: "Heat and Dust" (1975)
David Storey: "Saville" (1976)
Paul Scott: "Staying On" (1977)
Iris Murdoch: "The Sea, The Sea" (1978)
Penelope Fitzgerald: "Offshore" (1979)
William Golding: "Rites of Passage" (1980)
Salman Rushdie: "Midnight's Children" (1981)
Thomas Keneally: "Schindler's List" (1982)
J. M. Coetzee: "Life & Times of Michael K" (1983)
Anita Brookner: "Hotel du Lac" (1984)
Keri Hulme: "The Bone People" (1985)
Kingsley Amis: "The Old Devils" (1986)
Penelope Lively: "Moon Tiger" (1987)
Peter Carey: "Oscar and Lucinda" (1988)
Kazuo Ishiguro: "The Remains of the Day" (1989)
A. S. Byatt: "Possession) A Romance" (1990)
Ben Okri: "Famished Road" (1991)
Barry Unsworth: "Sacred Hunger" (1992)
Michael Ondaatje: "The English Patient" (1992)
Roddy Doyle: "Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha" (1993)
James Kelman: "How Late It Was, How Late" (1994)
Pat Barker: "The Ghost Road" (1995)
Graham Swift: "Last Orders" (1996)
Arundhati Roy: "The God of Small Things" (1997)
Ian McEwan: "Amsterdam" (1998)
J.M. Coetzee: "Disgrace" (1999)
Margaret Atwood: "The Blind Assassin" (2000)
Peter Carey: "True History Of The Kelly Gang" (2001)
Yann Martel: "Life of Pi" (2002)
DBC Pierre: "Vernon God Little" (2003)
Alan Holinghurst: "The Line of Beauty" (2004)
John Banville: "The Sea" (2005)
Kiran Desai: "The Inheritance of Loss" (2006)
Anne Enright: "The Gathering" (2007)
Aravind Adiga: "The White Tiger" (2008)
Hilary Mantel: "Wolf Hall" (2009)
Howard Jacobson: "The Finkler Question" (2010)
Julian Barnes: "The Sense of an Ending" (2011)
Hilary Mantel: "Bring up the Bodies" (2012)
Eleanor Catton: "The Luminaries" (2013)
Richard Flanagan: "The Narrow Road to the Deep North" (2014)
Marlon James: "A Brief History of Seven Killings" (2015)
Paul Beatty: "The Sellout" (2016)
George Saunders: "Lincoln in the Bardo" (2017)
Anna Burns: "Milkman" (2018)

TM, ®, Copyright © 1998 Piero Scaruffi