Winners of the Whitbread/ Costa Prize

Back to the list of literary prizes


1972: Susan Hill The Bird of Night
1975: William McIlvanney Docherty
1977: Beryl Bainbridge Injury Time
1978: William Trevor The Children of Dynmouth
1979: Jennifer Johnston The Old Jest
1982: Barbara Trapido Brother of the More Famous Jack
1983: William Trevor Fools of Fortune
1985: Christopher Hope Kruger's Alp
1985: Peter Ackroyd Hawksmoor
1987: Ian McEwan The Child in Time
1988: Salman Rushdie The Satanic Verses
1991: Jane Gardam The Queen of the Tambourine
1992: Alasdair Gray Poor Things
1993: Michael Ignatieff Scar Tissue
1995: Salman Rushdie The Moor's Last Sigh
1995: Kazuo Ishiguro The Unconsoled
1996: Beryl Bainbridge Every Man For Himself
1997: Jim Crace Being Dead
1998: Barbara Trapido The Travelling Hornplayer
1999: Rose Tremain Music and Silence
2000: Matthew Kneale English Passengers
2001: Patrick Neate Twelve Bar Blues
2002: Michael Frayn Spies
2003: Mark Haddon The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
2004: Andrea Levy: "Small Island"
2005: Ali Smith: "The Accidental"
William Boyd: "Restless" (2006)
Alison-Louise Kennedy: "Day" (2007)
Sebastian Barry: "The Secret Scripture" (2008)
Colm Toibin: "Brooklyn" (2009)
Maggie O'Farrell: "The Hand That First Held Mine" (2010)
Andrew Miller" "Pure" (2011)
Hilary Mantel" "Bring up the Bodies" (2012)
Kate Atkinson: "Life after Life" (2013)
Ali Smith: "How to Be Both" (2014)
Kate Atkinson: "A God in Ruins" (2015)
Sebastian Barry: "Days Without End" (2016)
Jon McGregor: "Reservoir 13" (2017)


1971 Geoffrey Hill Mercian Hymns
1985 Douglas Dunn Elegies
1986 Peter Reading Stet
1987 Seamus Heaney The Haw Lantern
1988 Peter Porter The Automatic Oracle
1989 Michael Donaghy Shibboleth
1990 Paul Durcan Daddy, Daddy
1991 Michael Longley Gorse Fires
1992 Tony Harrison The Gaze of the Gorgon
1993 Carol Ann Duffy Mean Time
1994 James Fenton Out of Danger
1995 Bernard O'Donoghue Gunpowder
1996 Seamus Heaney The Spirit Level
1997 Ted Hughes Tales from Ovid
1998 Ted Hughes Birthday Letters
1999 Seamus Heaney Beowulf
2000 John Burnside The Asylum Dance
2001 Selima Hill Bunny
2002 Paul Farley The Ice Age
2003 Don Paterson Landing Light
2004 Michael-Symmons Roberts: "Corpus"
2005 Christopher Logue: "Cold Calls"
John Haynes: "Letter to Patience" (2006)
Jean Sprackland: "Tilt" (2007)
Adam Foulds: "The Broken Word" (2008)
Christopher Reid: "A Scattering" (2009)
Jo Shapcott: "Of Mutability" (2010)
Carol Ann Duffy: "The Bees" (2011)
Kathleen Jamie: "The Overhaul" (2012)
Michael Symmons Roberts: "Drysalter" (2013)
Jonathan Edwards: "My Family and Other Superheroes" (2014)
Don Paterson: "40 Sonnets" (2015)
Alice Oswald: "Falling Awake" (2016)
Helen Dunmore: "Inside the Wave Blue" (2017)

TM, ®, Copyright © 1998 Piero Scaruffi