Jason Moran
(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
Krentz Ratings:
Soundtrack to Human Motion (1998), 6/10
Black Stars (2001), 7/10
Modernistic (2002), 7/10
The Bandwagon (2003), 7/10
Same Mother (2004), 6/10
Artist in Residence (2006), 5.5/10
Ten (2009), 6/10
Refraction - Breakin Glass (2012), 5/10
I Am a Man (2016), 5.5/10
Looks of a Lot (2017), 5.5/10
Mass (2017), 7.5/10

Texan pianist Jason Moran (1975) found a compromise between impressionist classical music, energetic bebop and moody new-age music on Soundtrack to Human Motion (september 1998), arranged for a small ensemble, and Black Stars (march 2001), for a quartet with Sam Rivers. The solo piano program of Modernistic (april 2002) used studio effects to bridge ancient jazz piano and contemporary sound.

The Bandwagon: (november 2002) documented a trio with Tarus Mateen on bass and Freddie Waits on drums, and was followed by Same Mother (may 2004) and Artist In Residence (2006).

Ten (recorded in 2009), Moran's first album in four years, was performed by the Bandwagon trio (Moran plus bassist Tarus Mateen and drummer Nasheet Waits). It contained a potpourri of compositions, ranging from a ballet to a soundtrack.

Trio 3 (bassist Reggie Workman, drummer Andrew Cyrille and reedist Oliver Lake) and pianist Jason Moran recorded Refraction - Breakin' Glass (july 2012).

Credited to trumpeter Ron Miles, I Am A Man (december 2016) featured Bill Frisell (guitar), Thomas Morgan (bass), Brian Blade (drums) and Jason Moran (piano).

Jason Moran also composed the calliope music for Kara Walker's steam-powered sculpture "The Kataswof Karavan" (2018).

Looks Of A Lot (june 2017) documents a collaboration between Jason Moran (piano) and Ken Vandermark (tenor sax and clarinet) leading a large ensemble of seven saxes, five trombones, seven trumpets, two pianos, two basses, six percussionists and a vocalist.

The Sound Will Tell You (january 2021) is a solo piano album.

The double-disc Seven Skies Orchestra (november 2022) gathered an all-star sextet: saxophonist Ivo Perelman, trumpeter Nate Wooley, viola player Mat Maneri, celloist Fred Lonberg-Holm, bassist Joe Morris and vibraphonist Matt Moran.

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database