Manfred Schoof

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
Krentz Ratings:
The Munich Recordings (1966), 5.5/10
European Echoes (1969), 6/10
European Jazz Ensemble (1987), 5/10

German trumpeter Manfred Schoof (1936) inaugurated the German free-jazz scene with his Quintet of 1966 (tenorist Gerd Dudek, pianist Alexander von Schlippenbach, bassist Buschi Niebergall, drummer Jacki Liebezeit) and inaugurated the FMP catalog with European Echoes (june 1969), credited to the Manfred Schoof Orchestra (three trumpets, Gerd Dudek and Peter Broetzmann on tenor, Evan Parker on soprano, Paul Rutherford on trombone, Derek Bailey on guitar, the three pianos of Fred Van Hove, Alex Schlippenbach and Irene Schweizer, three basses including Peter Kowald and Buschi Niebergall, two drummers including Han Bennink).

The Munich Recordings 1966 (december 1966) by the Manfred Schoof Quintet (with Alexander Von Schlippenbach on piano, Can's drummer Jaki Liebezeit, tenor saxophonist Gerd Dudek and bassist Buschi Niebergall) were finally released in 2014.

He also organized the European Jazz Ensemble (august 1987).

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database