(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
Krentz Ratings:
Talibam (2006), 6.5/10
Hungry Hungry Hemispheres (2006), 6/10
Ordination of the Globetrotting Conscripts (2007), 6/10
The Excusable Earthling (2007), 6.5/10
Boogie in the Breezerocks (2009), 5.5/10
The New Nixon Tapes (2009), 5.5/10
Dem Ol' Apple Pie Melodies (2009), 6/10
Double Automism (2014), 6/10
Is it Dangerous to Lean Out (2014), 5.5/10
Malice Afterthought (2016), 5/10
Hard Vibe (2017), 6/10
Endgame of the Anthropocene (2017), 5.5/10
Transynthorbital Implant (2019), 5.5/10

Talibam, formed in New York by Storm & Stress' drummer Kevin Shea, keyboardist Matt Mottel and saxophonist Ed Bear, debuted with Talibam (Evolving Ear, 2006), three extended cacophonous pieces a` la Borbetomagus, and the live Hungry Hungry Hemispheres (2006), another outburst of noise-jazz jams.

The impact of those preliminary recordings was much reduced on Ordination of the Globetrotting Conscripts (Azul Discografica, 2007), whose shorter pieces lacked the urgency and poignancy of the earlier jams, except the 13-minute The Spectre of Water Wars.

The two lengthy jams of The Excusable Earthling (2007) restored their credentials.

Boogie In The Breeze Rocks (ESP, 2009) features Tim Dahl and Moppa Elliott (bass), Michael Evans (percussion), Sparks' Peter Evans (trumpet), Jon Irabagon (sax), Sam Kulik (trombone), Robbie Lee (renaissance instruments), Peeesseye's Chris Forsyth, Jeremy Wilms and Anders Nilsson (guitars).

Peeesseye + Talibam! (may 2008) , is a collaboration between these two New York trios.

Discover AtlantASS (2012)

Two live jams appear on The New Nixon Tapes (2009). Augmented with Alan Wilkinson, Talibam also recorded Dem Ol' Apple Pie Melodies (early 2009) containing the 19-minute Obamalamadingdong.

Double Automatism (Karl, 2014) documents improvisations with veteran composer Yasunao Tone (computer) and trombonist Sam Kulik.

Talibam's drummer Kevin Shea and synth-man Matt Mottel joined saxophonist Alan Wilkinson for the live It Is Dangerous To Lean Out (december 2014).

The two 20-minute pieces of Hard Vibe (ESP, 2017) feature the duo with Matt Nelson (tenor saxophone, effects, tambourine) and Ron Stabinsky (electronic keyboards).

Endgame Of The Anthropocene (ESP, 2017) is another electronic work.

Malice Afterthought documents a live 2016 performance with saxophonist Alan Wiilkinson.

Transynthorbital Implant (2019) consolidated the lineup of Matt Mottel on electronics and keytar (keyboard in the shape of a guitar), Kevin Shea on drums and SPD-S, Tamio Shiraishi (sessionman in several Keiji Haino releases) on alto sax and David Watson on guitar & bagpipes.

15th Anniversary Box Set - 2003-2018 (2019) contains 15 new Talibam albums featuring guests such as Joe McPhee, Phil Minton and Ron Stabinsky.

The Talibam duo of Matt Mottel (piano, synthesizer and three-string guitar) and Kevin Shea (drums) recorded two side-long new pieces with Silke Eberhard (alto sax) and Nikolaus Neuser (trumpet) on This Week Is in Two Weeks (ESP, 2020).

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database