Samla Mammas Manna

(Copyright © 1999 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions - Termini d'uso )

, /10

Samla Mammas Manna were the premiere Swedish progressive-rock band of the 1970s. Formed by keyboardist Lars Hollmer, they released Samla Mammas Manna (1971), Maltid (1973) and Klossa Knapitatet (1974) before meeting a mysterious producer, Gregory Allan Fitzpatrick, who composed and arranged Snorum-garnas Symfoni (oct 1976) for them. They disbanded but reformed in 1977 as Zamla Mammaz Manna, adding Eino Haapala on guitar, and recorded the double album Schlagerns Mystik - For Aldre Nybegynnare (1977), the first half being a studio set of songs drenched in folk-rock and prog-rock (including the 17 minute The Fate) and the second half being live improvisations, Familjesprickor (1980).

Keyboardist Lars Hollmer and guitarist Eino Haapala formed Von Zamla in 1981 and released Zamlaranama (1981) and No Make Up (1983). 1983 compiles live performances.

Hollmer also released the solo albums XII Sibiriska (1981), containing the signature tune Boeves Psalm, Vill Du Hora Mer (1982), Fran Natt Idag (1983), Tonoga (1985), Vendeltid (1988), Vandelmassa, Andetag (1997).

Hollmer's Kaka (Amigo, 1999) collects brief compositions recorded between 2001 and 2007 that display his knack for melody and counterpoint. Mostly arranged for accordion, bassoon, violin and cello, they evoke church hymns, circus bands, French serenades, folk litanies, etc. The most lively piece is also the oldest, Alice (1989).

Viandra (2007) was Hollmer's last album before his untimely death in 2008.

With Floury Hand (Cuneiform, 2012) contains 26 unreleased songs and a live performance.

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

What is unique about this music database