(Copyright © 1999 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions - Termini d'uso )

Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism (1992), 6/10
Pure Holocaust (1993), 6/10
Battles In The North (1994), 6.5/10
Blizzard Beasts (1997), 5/10
At The Heart Of Winter (1998), 6.5/10
Damned In Black (2000), 4/10
Sons Of Northern Darkness (2002), 6/10
All Shall Fall (2009), 5/10

Bridging the gap between Norway's black metal and American speedmetal, Immortal played fast and raw, thanks to the lightning guitar work of Demonaz and to the thundering drumming of Horgh. Led by guitarist and vocalist Abbath, Immortal improved from the tentative steps of Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism (Osmose, 1992), which contains The Call Of The Wintermoon , Unholy Forces Of Evil , Cryptic Winterstorms , Cold Winds Of Feneral Dust , Blacker Than Darkness , and A Perfect Vision Of The Rising Northland , to the more gripping violence of Pure Holocaust (Osmose, 1993), with Unsilent Storms In The North Abyss , A Sign For The Norse Hordes To Ride , The Sun No Longer Rises , Frozen By Icewinds , Storming Through Red Clouds And Holocaustwinds , Eternal Years On The Path To The Cemetary Gates , As The Eternity Opens , and Pure Holocaust ,

This progression culminated in its progression with their masterpiece, Battles In The North (Osmose, 1994), an epic eruption of evil vibrations at breakneck speed (Battles In The North , At The Stormy Gates Of Mist , Through The Halls Of Eternity , Moonrise Fields Of Sorrow , Cursed Realms Of The Winterdemons , Throned By Blackstorms , Grim And Frostbitten Kingdoms , Descent Into Eminent Silence , Circling Above In Time Before Time , Blashyrkh (Mighty Ravendark) ).

After the disappointing Blizzard Beasts (Osmose, 1997), with Intro , Blizzard Beasts , Nebular Ravens Winter , Suns That Sank Below , Battlefields , Mountains Of Might , Noctambulant , Winter Of The Ages , Frostdemonstorm , Demonaz left the band.

Thanks to the input of producer and virtual member Peter Tagtgren, At The Heart Of Winter (Osmose, 1998) marked a change in direction, with a heavier sound, slower tempos, stronger melodies and slicker production. While infinitely more commercial than previous outings, this ranks as one of their most focused works.

Damned In Black (Osmose, 2000), on the other hand, was another disappointment. Sons Of Northern Darkness (Nuclear Blast, 2002) returned the band to the primitive sound of their early days.

After a long hiatus Immortal delivered the predictable All Shall Fall (Nuclear Blast, 2009).

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

What is unique about this music database