Solo Andata

(Copyright © 2010 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )

Fyris Swan (2006), 6/10
Solo Andata (2009) , 6.5/10
Ritual (2010), 7/10

Solo Andata, the project of Australian musicians Paul Fiocco and Kane Ikin, devoted Fyris Swan (Hefty, 2006) to atmospheric vignettes crafted from field recordings, instruments and computers. Solo Andata (Desire Path, 2009) was a purely acoustic work in the same vein, but its highlights were the two lengthy pieces borrowed from Paul Fiocco's Torsions And Drifts (Meupe, 2009): Ablation and Woods Flesh Bone.

Ritual (Desire Path, 2010) contains four austere meditations. Within the elegant architecture of Aggregate field recordings of a crisp and almost supernatural clarity collide with a rising cluster of acoustic instruments. Even more otherworldly is the atmosphere of Carving, a concerto for haunting shapeless sideral noises that roll into an empty dark space and disappear as mysteriously as they came. After the ghostly disintegrating loops of Myrmecia, the 20-minute Incantare begins as a slow panoramic of a soundscape populated with glitchy crackling noises of various instruments, but the second half is devoid of dissonance, a sacred silence barely scratched by the vibrations of a stringed instrument and the pulsation of hand drums, something in between Klaus Schulze's Irrlicht and Pink Floyd's Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun, and this ends like some kind of aquatic zombie tribal dance.

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2010 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database