Burkhard Stangl

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
Krentz Ratings:
Polwechsel (1994), 5.5/10
Polwechsel 2 (1998), 5/10
Recital (1999), 6.5/10
Schnee (1999), 6.5/10
Polwechsel 3 (2001), 5/10
An Old Fashioned Duet (2002), 5.5/10
Eh (2002), 5.5/10
Home (2002), 5.5/10
Wrapped Islands (2002), 5/10
Can't Illumination (2003), 5.5/10
Compositions for Guitars (2003), 5/10
Slow Days (2006), 5/10
I Was (2006), 5.5/10
Musik - Ein Portrat in Sehnsucht (2007), 5.5/10
Hommage a Moi (2009), 6.5/10
Neuschnee (2009), 5/10
Griefer - Music for 3 Zithers (2012), 6/10
Unfinished (2013), 6.5/10

Austrian guitarist Burkhard Stangl, a co-founder of the jazz ensemble Ton Art in 1985 and of the avantgarde chamber ensemble Maxixe in 1991, and a member of the improvisation ensemble Polwechsel with cellist Michael Moser, bassist Werner Dafeldecker and trombonist Radu Malfatti that released Polwechsel (september 1994 - Hat Hut, 1998), Polwechsel 2 (january 1998 - Hat Hut, 1999), with Malfatti replaced by saxophonist John Butcher, and Polwechsel 3 (july 2001 - Durian, 2001), debuted solo with Recital (Durian, 1999) that collects four of his compositions for guitar and piano, notably the twenty-minute Teint and the 14-minute Partitur. He formed the duo Schnee (december 1999 - Erstwhile, 2000) with Christof Kurzmann on laptop. The four lengthy jams Nordrand (15:17) Sans Soleil (20:46), Passion (14:01) and In Einem Jahr Mit 13 Monden (23:48) straddled the border between free jazz, digital soundsculpting and progressive rock. Schnee also recorded Neuschnee (2009).

After An Old-Fashioned Duet (Slub, 2002) with Taku Sugimoto, and the collaboration Eh (Erstwhile, 2002) with computer musician Dieter "Dieb13" Kovacic, and Can't Illumination (Musica Genera, 2003) with electronic musician Robert Piotrowicz and alto saxophonist Anna Zaradny, Compositions For Guitars (april 2003 - A Bruit Secret, 2003) collected performances of compositions by Sugimoto and Brett Larner.

Stangl, Kurzmann, Bernhard Fleischmann, Martin Siewert and Werner Dafeldecker formed The Year Of, that released Slow Days (Morr, 2006) in a more conventional synth-pop style.

I Was (Hibari, 2006) was a collaboration between Stangl and computer musician Taku Unami.

SSSD was the quartet of Martin Siewert, Burkhard Stangl, Taku Sugimoto and Werner Dafeldecker that released Home (2002).

Burkhard Stangl also released Wrapped Islands with Polwechsel and Fennesz, Eh with Dieb13, and Musik - Ein Portrat in Sehnsucht (august 2007), featuring Kai Fagaschinski on clarinet, piano and acoustic guitar and Klaus Filip on field recordings.

The triple-disc set Hommage à Moi contains compositions for ensemble: Concert for Saxophon and Quiet Players (composed in 2007), Wolken.Heim breathing/clouds (composed in 2009), My Dowland (2009) for countertenor and ensemble, Los Vestidos Blancos de Merida (2009), and the monumental Hommage à moi, an electroacoustic composition for vibraphone, audio feeds, trumpet-solo, church organ, electronics, guitar, piano, trombone and a symphonic orchestra.

In 2011 Burkhard Stangl (guitar, devices), Angelica Castello (paetzold flute, cassettes, radios, toys, ukulele), Mario de Vega (electronics) and Attila Faravelli (electronics through modified speakers) formed Squid that released the double-disc SQID (august 2014) mixing field recordings, ambient noise, electronic soundscapes and improvisations,

Greifer - New Music For 3 Zithers (Idyllic Noise, 2012) features old works by Manuela Kerer, Helga Pogatschar, Burkhard Friedrich, Christian Wolff and Burkhard Stangl performed on zither by Reinhilde Gamper, composer Leopold Hurt and Martin Mallaun.

Unfinished (Touch, 2013) contains music for electric guitar, electronics and field, notably the live 34-minute Mellow and the 17-minute Sailing,

The live On Ear (december 2010) and Consuelo (Mikroton, 2018) document the duo Chesterfield, i.e. Stangl (guitars, piano) and Mexican composer Angelica Consuelo (who plays paetzold, recorders, tapes, electronics, cello and viola on the latter).

ZWOLF (february 2017) is a solo guitar album.

Jardin Des Bruits (may 2019) documents another collaboration between Stangl (guitar and electronics) and Dieb13 (aka Dieter Kovacic) on acoustic and electronic gramophones and electronics,

Schnee, i.e. the duo of Burkhard Stangl (guitars, tapes) and Christof Kurzmann (lloopp, vocals, rubberbands), released Schnee (december 1999) and, two decades later, the live Cher (september 2018).

A Ship (april 2022 - Nahfeld, 2023) documents a collaboration between Stangl and Austrian trumpeter Franz Hautzinger.

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database