Puce Mary

(Copyright © 2012 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions )
The Closed Room (2011), 7/10
Success (2013), 7/10
Persona (2014), 6/10

Danish electronic composer Puce Mary (Frederikke Hoffmeier) debuted with several homemade cassettes, such as Piss Flowers (2010) and Lucia (2010).

The Closed Room (Posh Isolation, 2011) contains a glacial post-ambient and post-apocalypse masterpiece, the 21-minute Iron Tulip. The piece unfold slowly, but turbulence is inherent, and eventually a helicopter-like vibration becomes prominent, rising and rising, and swallowing everything else; and just when the piece is about to end we hear another sinister rumble emerge periodically, a signal that the piece could continue forever... The way she mixed pulsations, glitches and scraping was highly dramatic and emotional.

Success (Posh Isolation, 2013) contains at least two more stately celebrations of alienation. The nine-minute Everything Stays The Same stretches a ghostly whistle until it becomes an abrasive flow of sonic lava that drowns the soundscape of otherwise tinkling and hissing and howling sounds. The ten-minute The Wait is an even denser and faster flow of noise, that keeps self-igniting until beginning to sound like a tumultuous crowd of animals screaming all at once... and then it ends.

Pure Macy also collaborated with Swedish group Sewer Election on Den Blege Gra Tone (2012) and Aska (iDeal, 2013).

Persona (Posh Isolation, 2014) trivializes Pure Macy's processes in the industrial vignette Course, in the ambient drones of The Viewer and in the dizzying distortion of Persona.

The cassette The Viewer (Ascetic House, 2014) contains another relatively old-fashioned industrial piece, Obedient Grounds, and the voice-manipulation nightmare of Dreams (but Stockhausen was doing these things in the 1950s).

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2012 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions )
What is unique about this music database