Michael Waller

(Copyright © 2014 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions )

, /10

New York-based composer Michael Waller (USA, 1985) began experimenting with electroacoustic music, microtonality, just intonation, and droning minimalism, but through compositions such as One Less String Quartet (2010) for string quartet, Highlands (2011) for bagpipe duo, Studiare per Zero Quartetti (2012) for string trio, Trombone Too For Five (2012) for trombone duo, and Discretion (2012) for horn, bass clarinet, bassoon and string quintet, he moved into a more classical setting, heir to the impressionist chamber music of Erik Satie and Claude Debussy.

The EP Five Easy Pieces (2014) contains Per Terry e Morty (2012), L'Anno del Serpente (2013), Ninna Nanna (2013), and Acqua Santa (2013). The EP Seven Easy Pieces (2014) contains seven Miniatures for solo piano.

The double-disc The South Shore (XI, 2015) is a generous compilation of works from 2013-2014. The pieces can be grouped in layers of increasing complexity. At the bottom are from nostalgic fragments scored for one, two or three instruments, especially the eerie Organum (2014) for solo organ and Arbitrage Deux (2013) for solo clarinet, the baroque adagio Il Mento Tenuto Alto (2014) for solo violin, and the four movement Pupazzo Di Neve Partitas (2013) for solo cello (allemande, courante, sarabande and gigue). Slightly more complex are the romantic madrigal Profondo Rosso (2013) for chamber ensemble, the ecstatic and lyrical string quartet Atmosfera Di Tempo (2013), which was later re-scored for septet and re-titled Rifiuto, and the tender, doleful string trio Per La Madre E La Nonna (2013). One step up are Ritratto (2013) for saxophone, cello, electric guitar, flute, trombone and viola, La Riva Sud (2014) for piano and viola, in which minimalist repetition and brainy counterpoint prevail over emotion. At the top are abstract soundscapes such as the four-movement Y For Henry Flynt (2012) for solo cello His religious music can be solemn and geometric, like a slow-motion Bach: Nel Nome Di Gesu (2013) for cello and organ. This album contains only one sample of his experimental music, the dissonant Arbitrage for clarinet and percussion.

Other compositions for solo piano include Visages I-VIII (2015) and Breathing Trajectories (2016).

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2014 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions )
What is unique about this music database